Monday, January 23, 2006

Chandigarh@abcnewsnetwork on 23.01.2006(2)

Mass movement to promote wildlife preservation in Chandigarh
Chandigarh January 23:- The Chandigarh Administration has formed four committees for making wildlife preservation and promotion a mass movement with increased participation at all levels.The committees have been formed as a follow up decision of the State Board for Wildlife, U.T., Chandigarh held under the chairmanship ofGovernor of Punjab and Administrator, Chandigarh Administration,Gen.(Retd.) S.F.Rodrigues. These four committees are as such:-1. Committee on creation of awareness about forests, wildlife & environment among people especially students : This committee has been constituted under the Chairmanship of HomeSecretary-cum-Secretary (Education), Chandigarh Administration and the members of the committee are; Director Public Instructions(Colleges), UT Chandigarh, Director Public Instructions (Schools),UT Chandigarh, Mr.R.S. Goraya, Distt. Education Officer, UTChandigarh, Dr.(Mrs.) Satinder Dhillon, Principal, Dev SamajCollege of Education, Sec.36, Chandigarh, Prof.R.K.Kohli, BotanyDeptt., Panjab University, Chandigarh, Mr.Jagjit Singh, YadvindraPublic School, Mohali and Director Environment, ChandigarhAdministration. Director Environment, Chandigarh Administrationwill be the convenor of this committee.2. Committee on protection & conservation of Sukhna Lake and promotion ofEco-tourism:This committee has been constituted under the Chairmanship of FinanceSecretary-cum-Secretary (Environment & Forests), Chandigarh Administrationand the members of the committee are; Chief Engineer, U.T. Chandigarh,Director Tourism, U.T. Chandigarh, General Manager (Tourism), CITCO, Prof.M.S. Johal, Zoology Deptt., Panjab University, Chandigarh, Dr. SatishNarula, PAU, office at Old Arch. Bldg, Sec.19B, Chandigarh, Lt.Gen.(Retd.)Baljit Singh, # 219, Sec.16, Chandigarh and Deputy Conservator of Forests& Chief Wildlife Warden, U.T.Chandigarh. Deputy Conservator of Forests &Chief Wildlife Warden, U.T.Chandigarh will be the convenor of thiscommittee.3. Committee on preservation of Heritage trees:This committee has been constituted under the Chairmanship of DeputyConservator of Forests-cum- Director Environment, UT Chandigarh and themember of the committee are; Mr.Raghubir Singh, Executive Engineer,(Horticulture), Municipal Corpn, Mr.Karan Singh, Principal, Govt. ModelSr.Sec. School, Sec. 33-D, Chandigarh, Mrs. Usha Saboo, # 1,Sec. 5,Chandigarh, Sarpanch, Gram Panchayat, Maloya village, U.T. Chandigarh,Sarpanch, Gram Panchayat, Khuda Alisher village, U.T. Chandigarh andMr.Pramod Sharma, Convenor, YUVSATTA (NGO), Sec.11, Chandigarh. Mr.PramodSharma, Convenor, YUVSATTA will be the convenor of this committee.4. Committee on proposed Greater Shivalik National Park:This committee has been constituted under the Chairmanship of Secretary(Forests), Chandigarh Administration and members of this committee are;Mr.R.D.Jakati, Chief Wildlife Warden, aryana, Panchkula, Lt.Gen.(Retd.)Baljit Singh, # 219, Sec.16, Chandigarh, Mrs. Madhu Sarin, # 48, ec.4,Chandigarh (Environmentalist & Architect) and Chief Wildlife Warden, UTChandigarh. Chief Wildlife Warden, UT Chandigarh will be the convenor ofthis committee.The committees will hold regular meetings and will submit the advise/detailed recommendations to the Chandigarh Administration upto 30thApril, 2006.


Post a Comment

<< Home